Training Opportunity

Writing for Theatre 2022

Writing for Theatre 2022 - 16 - 21 Year Olds

This online course is for 16 - 21-year-olds with big ideas and a passion for writing. You might be totally new to theatre or wanting to try a new skill - come and get involved in Writing for Theatre 2022 with National Theatre!

During the course you will develop the practical tools and skills to focus your ideas and turn them into theatre, supported by professional playwrights. Using writing exercises, games and creative tasks you will find out how to generate ideas, create structure, character and dialogue to gain a deeper understanding of the playwriting process.

Throughout the course you will take part in masterclasses and will be supported during each session by an established playwright-mentor who will run smaller group mentor sessions where you can share your thoughts, ideas and practice with peers and your playwright mentor.

Previous playwright mentors have included: Sonia Jalaly, Jennifer Farmer, Andrew Muir, Eve Leigh, Martin Murphy, Emteaz Hussain, Molly Taylor, Zodwa Nyoni, Ryan Calais Cameron and Ashlee Elizabeth-Lolo

2022 Course dates:

Wednesday 9th November 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 16th November 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 23rd November 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 30th November 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 7th December 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 14th December 5pm - 7pm

Christmas Break

Wednesday 11th January 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 18th January 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 25th January 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 1st February 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 8th February 5pm - 7pm

Writing Break

Wednesday 15th March 5pm - 7pm

Wednesday 22nd March 5pm – 7pm

Applications:

We are furthering our commitment to diversity and access in areas we recognise have been most affected by the events of the last few years: young people from the global majority, young people from working-class backgrounds, and disabled young people

The deadline to apply for Writing for Theatre 2022 is Monday 3rd October at 10AM

This project is free to take part in and access bursaries are available to supporting working online. If you have any questions about your application, the project, or would like support completing this form please email youth@nationaltheatre.org.uk and someone in the young people's programme will be able to support with this. We look forward to reading your applications!